Plaquemines Parish contains three U.S. National Historic Landmarks, including Fort De La Boulaye, Fort St. Philip, and Fort Jackson. Each of these historic landmarks played a significant role in the development and defense of the region during different time periods. Fort De La Boulaye was a French colonial fortification built in 1700, while Fort St. Philip and Fort Jackson played a crucial role in the Civil War. Visitors can explore these sites to learn more about the history of the area and the important events that shaped it.
For more information on Fort Jackson and Fort St. Philip, please contact:
Fort Jackson Museum and Welcome Center
Address: 38039 Highway 23, Buras, LA 70041
The following photo pictures The De La Salle Monument in southern Plaquemines Parish pays tribute to the second expedition of French explorer René Robert Cavelier, Sieur de la Salle. He was the first European to travel the length of the Mississippi River, reaching its mouth in modern-day Plaquemines Parish in April 1682. There he claimed all of the land drained by the Mississippi River for France.
Our Local Sites
Fort Jackson is an historic masonry fort located some 40 miles up river from the mouth of the Mississippi River in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. It was constructed as a coastal defense of New Orleans, between 1822 and 1832, and it was a battle site during the American Civil War.
Fort De La Boulaye
Fort De La Boulaye, originally called Mississippi Fort, is one of the earliest sights in Louisiana, founded in 1700 by Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville. The fort was built by the French to help their efforts in taking possession over the Mississippi River. However, by 1707, they were forced to vacate by Native Americans. Today, the site sits on a low ridge surrounded by swamp ground with no physical trace of the fort remaining above ground. Unfortunately, all that distinguishes this area from the rest is a historical marker.
Fort St. Phillip
Fort St. Philip was constructed along with Fort Jackson to act as a coastal defense for New Orleans and the Mississippi River. It was the site of a 12-day siege in April 1862 by the Union army during the American Civil War. The site was heavily damaged by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, and is now privately owned and only accessible by boat or helicopter.